[review] cabaret

what good is sitting alone in your room? come hear the music play

10.21.22

okay i feel bad about not including credits and the (high school) theater it was at but like, internet safety!!!

I made the terrible choice to sit in the free seats (skull emoji). At the cost of saving 15$ i had to sit through people around me talking the whole show and this one kid near me was on snapchat the entire time. like okay. Yes, Cabaret is a long show but why would you even go see it if you are going to be on your phone the entire time?? My perscription is also lower than it should be so that caused some issues with seeing everyone on stage :(.

Anyways, this was my first time seeing Cabaret!! and holy shit the entire show hit me like a fucking truck. not because of shock value but just because how emotionally hard hitting it was. I cried at both the title number and the reprise of wilkommen (sob). i was pretty surprised that cliff didn't really sing throughout the show :O. also, after the show I was able to see the costumes up close and i have to say they looked really cool up close :O especially the black smudged lipstick it slayed.

So, starting from the beginning:

Wilkkomen was great ^_^. the guy playing the emcee really nailed it and i think it really set a great tone for the rest of the show!! If I recall correctly, they also changed a couple of lines? the texas line was something like - "you know how they say everything is bigger in america? well..." and then i think the emcee shook his head lmao. i have zero clue if i phrased that right because my memory is shit but it was somewhere along those lines. the set piece indicating the songs played at the kit kat club was absolutely gorgeous :O. the sign was hanging from the top of the stage, reading cabaret spelled out with lightbulbs. sadly, it did kind of reflect on my glasses making it harder to see the stage. :(

i do have to say, the german accents were a bit hard to understand, but i checked the wikipedia summary after act 1 and it turns out i mostly understood everything. yay!! i also really liked both don't tell mama and mein heir!! both numbers slayed very hard. B). when cliff kissed one of the kit kat club boys, a couple people around me were snickering or smth :skull emoji:

tbc later lol